Southern Canterbury Show


  • Entries Close: TBC
  • Breed Judging: 23rd November

Type of Show

This is a full fleece breed show for huacaya and suri with an age championship schedule.  Also Fancy Alpaca Section with Best Male, Best Female and Premier Fancy Alpaca Ribbons. 



TBA- Breed

Chief Steward: TBA
Ring Steward: TBA
Recording: TBA

General Information

The Southern Canterbury Show is a relaxed and fun Show, set in the beautiful Waimate Show Grounds under the Hunter Hills. And it is Strawberry Time in Waimate! Come and join us, you will love it.

You are welcome to come the night before the show.

You can camp for free in the grounds

We have indoor overnight (communal) penning  available for your animals , and may be able to help with your accommodation too.

If wet we can keep all animals indoors.

Penning to be completed at 9.15

Then we will all have a cuppa and something to nibble before the show starts. at 9.30

Tea, coffee and nibbles will be available all day.

Erik van Schreven Memorial Trophy for Supreme Champion Suri Alpaca

Murray Bruce Perpetual Trophy for Supreme Huacaya Alpaca

Both these trophies have been donated by the Alpaca Association of New Zealand to honour the work they have done in establishing the Alpaca Industry in New Zealand

Summerhill Alpacas Trophy for Premier Fancy Huacaya
Donated by NZ Summerhill Alpacas

Winners of the Murray Bruce Perpetual Trophy
2011   Algoma Chaska - B Taylor & J Matheson, M Bennett, S&E Lewis
2012   Algoma Chaska - B Taylor & J Matheson, M Bennett, S&E Lewis
2013   Waratah Flats Galaxy  - Kees and Catherine Rietveld
2014   Honeyfields Escobar - Barbara Lomax
2015   Awatere Lexington - Robyn & Phil Anderson
2016   Cancelled due to flooding
2017   Oak Ridge Ultimo M. Bennett & D Wallace

Winner of the Erik van Schreven Memorial Trophy:
2011   Maddison Park Quake - Ann & Malcolm Duncan
2012   Bromfield Park Alonso - B Taylor
2013   Fairhaven Houston - Anne & Neil Godfrey
2014   Fairhaven Houston - Anne & Neil Godfrey
2015   Fairhaven Leilani - Anne & Neil Godfrey
2016   Cancelled due to flooding
2017   Surico Sweetie - Anne & Neil Godfrey

Winner of the NZ Summerhill Alpacas Trophy
2012   Kinvarra Moccachino - Shirley and Dallas Grant
2013   Otaio Bridge Corokia - Ineke and Jacob van Neuren
2014   Otaio Bridge Karamu - Julie and Ken Wilson
2015   Awatere Halswell - Robyn & Phil Anderson

Sponsorship Information

Show sponsors:

Breed sponsors available for only $50.00
Suri Breed Classes sponsor -  

Huacaya Breed Classes sponsor - 

Fancy Suri Classes - sponsor

Fancy Huacaya classes sponsor

Preferential parking and penning for these sponsors.
Logos in the Southern Canterbury A&P program as well the Alpaca program, and on the Show Facebook page.

Banner or sign (provided by the sponsor) around the ring.

Championship sponsors available for only $25.00
Logos in the program and on the Show Facebook page.
Banner or sign (provided by the sponsor) around the ring.
Preferential penning on a first sponsored first allocated basis.

Contact Ineke to reserve your sponsorship. 

For the latest show and sponsorship information go to